Our Co-operative Identity

A co-operative is an autonomous association of persons united voluntarily to meet their common economic, social and cultural needs and aspirations through a jointly-owned and democratically controlled enterprise.

Background / History

The Community First Cooperative Credit Union Ltd (CFCCU) formerly Antigua and Barbuda Teachers’ Co-operative Credit Union Ltd (ABTCCU) was established in April 1959 with the objective of ensuring that teachers and their families could operate their own financial savings.  The Co-operative was registered in January 1982 under the Co-operative Laws of Antigua and Barbuda.  The name change was effected in 2004 complete with a new logo, built on a new image driven by tenets of quality service, innovative products and community spirit. As stated in its charter, its primary mission is “to promote thrift and create a source of credit for provident and productive purposes”. To this end, CFCCU steadfastly throughout its  years of operation has provided improved and expanded services for the benefit of its members and the public of Antigua and Barbuda.

In 1989 the credit union embraced members of the general community including nurses, civil servants and other professionals along with small business owners and rank and file individuals to form part of the Co-operative. Over the last 7 years, the credit union has realized phenomenal growth in membership, assets, member savings and loans. Membership has continued to increase and now includes the growing community of non-nationals.

CFCCU is part of the Regional Movement associated through the Antigua & Barbuda Co-operative League Ltd. which holds membership with Caribbean Confederation of Credit Unions (CCCU) and with the World Council of Credit Union (WOCCU).

The Credit Union is supervised by the regulatory agency of the Government of Antigua and Barbuda through the Financial Services Regulatory Commission (FSRC) and in collaboration with the  Eastern Caribbean Central Bank (ECCB ).

At present, Community First Co-operative Credit Union employs 49 full time employees. We have five Departments to include: Management and Business Admin, Loans, Accounts, Human Resources and Operations. Our Headquarters is located at Old Parham Road and we have an Offsite Branch located at the Townhouse Plaza.

Our Credit Union also has a Board of Directors, Credit Committee and Supervisory & Compliance Committee which is made up of volunteer members who are elected each year by the general membership at the Annual General Meeting.